“If you wanna w…

“If you wanna win a war, you must serve no master but your ambition.”- Illyria, Angel season 5 episode Time Bomb.

As of this Saturday I will be officially a graduate of the University of West Georgia. It has been a long…6 yrs (8 if you include 2 yr break) here at this institution. And all these years are filled with so many memories, none of which I would take back if I had a chance. It sort of breaks my heart a little leaving, not so much because of all the studying and tests, but the people I have met along the way who I will be parting ways with. I feel so blessed to have met them and will cherish the memories with them forever.

Now has come the time for me to begin the next chapter of my life, although not 100% sure what that means for me. I do have faith that whatever lies ahead before me in my journey will be something good!!! I have been very blessed with making a connection on LinkedIn with someone who may be able to provide a very special opportunity for me. I would say it is a dream come true except I never imagined this really happening. I am very excited and, yes, a little bit scared as well due to what it entails. Fortunately, I am quite blessed with having supportive friends and family (minus one) who have been encouraging to me to not let fear be the reason to hold me back from taking this next step in my life. I hope I end up making the right one!

So, you may be wondering, “What’s with the quote?”. To me, this just really fits how I have felt about my desire to pursue a career in the music industry. Why music? Music has always been a special part of my life. I began playing an instrument when I was in middle school and continued playing throughout high school. During those years of depression, playing my trumpet was the only thing that gave me any sense of joy. So, basically, I want to pay it forward. I want to have a career in the music industry to help bring music to others.

You’re probably wondering why I would pick a quote referring to war. The reason why I chose this quote is because I have felt like I have been in the middle of a sort of war with me wanting to pursue a career in the music industry. Until lately, I haven’t really felt that encouraged by those dear to me. Me just having days where I question my decision but in the end I can’t see my life any other way. Me making the decision to get a regular business degree because I couldn’t find an appropriate program in Georgia that fit what I want to do. True, I did find a program up in Tennessee but in the end I just wasn’t ready to leave my family behind. 

But times has changed. I am more mature and not willing to settle because, at the end of day, I deserve to have what I want. I am now more willing to take risks, to make a big move. It is simply time to get more serious and serve my ambition!

 

 

Leave a Reply

