A Message From Someone Depressed: Just Be There

I recently came across the above video. It really struck a chord with me due to my own personal battle with depression. There, I said it, I am depressed. I have been for quite some time. I don’t know when exactly it happened, probably further back than I can remember. All I know is that I didn’t realize it until a few months after I graduated. My sister has told me that she thinks that I have been for years. True? Honestly, I really don’t know. It is possible. Perhaps it was just a little bit under the surface that I never noticed. But, when or how long I have been depressed is not what this post is meant to be about…

This post is meant for those who know someone who is depressed. I can’t speak entirely for the specific individual you know but I hope that maybe my words will help you be there for this person, if you do wish to be there for them. I just said it, be there. The best thing you can do i simply be there. Also, don’t judge them for it. Be understanding. For the most part, treat them normally. If you try to baby them, you’re likely to just make it worst. At least I know I would if everyone walked on eggshells around me just because I am depressed.

There isn’t anything you really can do that can make a person NOT be depressed. The individual has to be ready. They need to time to go through it for however long they need to. All you can do is let them know that if they want to talk, you will be there and if they don’t, you won’t force them to. Be willing to be the shoulder they lean on, cry on…literally or figuratively. That really is all you can do until the day the finally get sick and tired of being depressed and are willing to take the steps to pull themselves.

I have recently reached the point of being ready to pull myself out this horrible state of mind. What made it so long for me to be able to here was not understanding why. Something I have only recently come to truly realize. Having the knowledge of why has allowed me to know what steps I need to take get through this difficult, frustrating time in my life. I finally have hope, I see the light at the end of this tunnel. This time will pass and someday I will be okay again.

*Thank you for taking the time to read this. I hope my message is of use to you. If you so happen to be a person in depression. I’d like to say to you, hang in there, keep going. Have faith that one day you will be out of this.*

Leave a Reply

